a. bucket. of. words.

by Cherszy (@cherszy)

Thank You Steve Jobs!

DJ-free music-on-the-go accessed through a tap here, a tap there, and some scrolling was introduced to me six years ago via the 5th generation iPod Classic. The mini and convenient radio – minus the distracting DJ’s and the playback of unfamiliar and personally detestable songs – was a birthday gift given to me by my godmother, who knew I was dying on the inside to get hold of an iPod as it was the coolest thing to own back then.

(The ‘coolest thing’ part is arguable – happy now?)

My first Apple product ever

Like a kid who received bagfuls of sweet treats on Christmas, I was overjoyed at the sight of a black 30GB 5th generation iPod Classic sitting atop my table, waiting for me to discover its magic. I could barely wait to explore its features and to finally use it. The concept was a cutting edge of the century, and it was the beginning of a revolutionary age in technology. But more importantly, it earned my adoration. My iPod Classic was my baby back then.

Until the 4th generation iTouch stole my attention away from it.

Meet triX

Now, I can’t live without my iTouch. Wherever I go, it tags along. It has become an integral part of my daily existence; it’s probably the closest thing I’d ever get to a robot friend. It has made my life more convenient to some extent. And more fun. And more informed about the world. And more interactive. And more organized. And more creative. And more connected with the rest of humanity.

In short, I think my iTouch has made my life more than it could have been without it. And who do I thank for such a wonderful gift of technology?

Steve Jobs, without a doubt.

He was the man who put the world at our fingertips. The man who changed the world through his amazing creations. The man who so generously shared with us his brilliance.  The man who showed us the power of mini supergadgets. The man who had so many wise words to inspire us with. The man who wasn’t afraid to try to make his imaginations a reality.

And more importantly, Steve Jobs was the man who dared to leave a legacy, to be the legend that he is now and will be forever.

And so, I would like to say, thank you, dear sir, for introducing us to the wonderful world of Apple products. Thank you for inspiring us with your wisdom, determination, and creative ingenuity. Thank you for making our lives easier, more fun, and cooler and for contributing to the productivity of the world in a way we never expected. Thank you for reminding us to trust our instincts, to do what we love to do, and to explore our imaginations. You are truly a man who has brought so much to this world, and we are forever grateful for your existence.

Today, we may have lost you as one of the geniuses of this century, but you will always be remembered. 

R.I.P. Steve Jobs.

Of course, he has. He's Steve Jobs!

“Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice.” (Steve Jobs)

Apple product users, what was your first ever Apple product? Which ones do you own now? How have they changed your life?

One comment on “Thank You Steve Jobs!

  1. manonmona
    October 6, 2011

    manonmona reblogged this on Espacio de MANON.

Speak your minds!

Information

This entry was posted on October 6, 2011 by in Event, Incident, People and tagged , , , , , , .

On a tweet spree

  • My heart really goes out to all those who were killed and injured in the Colorado shooting. Man, those people just wanted to watch a movie! tweeted 1 year ago
  • Saw an amazing around-the-world video! Makes me want to just drop out of college and go to Morocco or Argentina right now. tweeted 1 year ago
  • So many Avengers puns are popping on my Facebook wall. My brain's dying from continuously saying "what the hell". Gah! tweeted 1 year ago

What You Missed

STB-5
STB-5
