a. bucket. of. words.

by Cherszy (@cherszy)

Let’s Talk Our Favorite Desserts

So, you’ve heard, haven’t you?

What do you mean ‘what’?

That October – now – is National Dessert Month and yesterday was National Dessert Day?

Of course you have heard about it! It’s all over Twitter (and my social self is asking if you can follow me)! What’s that? You don’t have Twitter? Well, that just means one thing: you should create an account now and start following me!

But then again, even without Twitter, you couldn’t have probably missed out on such a wonderful event. It’s like the biggest occasion for all dessert enthusiasts! And because I am a huge fan of everything desserts, I am going to pay tribute to this month by sharing my top 10 favorite desserts of all time here.

Warning: some very delectable, mouth-watering photos are about to appear. Make sure you’re eating something while reading this so that you don’t drool too much.

1. Brownie a la Mode

Just because brownies are the best things in the world.

And I think it’s time that these brownies start baking themselves because I want my brownie a la mode. And I want it now.

2. Crème brûlée

C’est très délicieuse.  C’est parfaite!

It’s simply the perfect way to end a scrumptious seafood dinner. Or, it’s simply a wonderful way to warm the stomach on a chilly day.

3. Wicked Oreos

Oreos will always be one of the best comfort foods around. But deep fried Oreos topped with ice cream?

Now that puts me in a state of ecstasy.

The contrast between the cold ice cream and the warm Oreos just blends so well as it melts in my mouth. Awesome!

(And the best place to grab this in Manila? Flaming Wings definitely!)

4. Chocolate Soufflé

It’s not just your ordinary cupcake.

It needs the baker’s tender, loving care and attention in order to be perfect when served. And that tenderness reflects in the flavor of this dessert. Upon the first spoonful, that sense of warmth and comfort flows right through you, giving you that tender, loving care you need after a tiring day.

5. S’mores

S'mores with Homemade Graham Crackers and Dandies

Probably one of the easiest desserts to make. Not to mention, one of the most satisfying ones when you need a simple comfort food to get you through a rough day.

So, stock up on those marshmallows, graham crackers, and chocolate bars because s’mores will always be your best friend when everyone else is busy doing homework or preparing presentations for their bosses.

6. Gelato Ice Cream

You think I’d forget about the simplest and everyone’s favorite dessert? Of course not.

And take note, this is supposedly healthier than ordinary ice cream. So, that’s totally a plus.

7. Banoffee Pie

Chewy. Sweet. Creamy. Delectable.

Enough said for my sweet tooth.

8. Chocolate Chip Cookies

Some like the thin and crunchy ones, but I like the thick and super chewy ones. The chewier the better.

But, however we like our chocolate chip cookies, it cannot be denied that this is that classic dessert that we’d love to have any time of the day.

It’s a guilty pleasure we’d never ever feel guilty about.

Which reminds me, where’s my milk to go with these?

9. Mango Float

I generally love anything mango, but what makes this dessert particularly special is its multilayer richness of flavor of mixed mangoes and graham crackers, all smothered with sweet cream.

Say it with me: YUM!

10. Churros

I swear, this must be a dessert from heaven. Too delicious to not be divine.

Once I start, I can’t stop. So, if you don’t want me to die from churros overload, please don’t tell me where the best churros are.

But then, won’t you want me to be happy by telling me where I can buy the most awesome churros?

I’m a certified dessert addict. Are you? 

What are your favorite desserts of all time? Where do you usually go to grab these desserts? If you bake them yourself, care to share your recipes? Just sound off in the comments section.

Enjoy the rest of the National Desserts Month! And remember, DESSERTS is just STRESSED spelled backwards, so… JUST INDULGE and shoo away all those stress.

2 comments on “Let’s Talk Our Favorite Desserts

  1. lazyblackcat
    October 27, 2011

    Can’t it be National Dessert Year instead? What a wicked post, good thing I already had my cheesecake fix!

    • Cherszy
      October 28, 2011

      How I wish it can be National Dessert Year every year even though that beats the purpose of having a National Dessert Year! So, what’s your fave dessert of all time?

      And thanks for visiting! :)

Speak your minds!

On a tweet spree

  • My heart really goes out to all those who were killed and injured in the Colorado shooting. Man, those people just wanted to watch a movie! tweeted 2 years ago
  • Saw an amazing around-the-world video! Makes me want to just drop out of college and go to Morocco or Argentina right now. tweeted 2 years ago
  • So many Avengers puns are popping on my Facebook wall. My brain's dying from continuously saying "what the hell". Gah! tweeted 2 years ago

What You Missed

STB-5
STB-5
