a. bucket. of. words.

by Cherszy (@cherszy)

The Virus Known as ‘Call Me Maybe’

Hey, I just met you

And this is crazy.

But here’s my number,

So call me maybe.

Okay. That’s enough. We can stop singing now unless we want our neighbors to come banging at our doors, screaming and begging for us to shut up. Either that or they’ll come and join in the “Call Me Maybe” party, which, I don’t think, is exactly the best way to spend today.

It’s hard to look right

At you, baaaaby!

But here’s my number,

So call me maybe.

Okay, okay, I should stop singing now.

But see? That’s the problem! I just can’t! And I’m pretty sure many of you out there are experiencing the same dilemma. I seriously feel that there is something in this song that puts one in some kind of a hypnosis when it plays, like some brain bug that triggers you to sing along when the song is on. Hey, you never know!

Just hear it for yourself (and don’t blame me if you can’t stop singing afterwards):

Since Carly Rae Jepsen’s “Call Me Maybe” hit the radios, Youtube, and MTV, the song has been spreading like an endemic virus all over the world – and it’s spreading fast! And unfortunately, there is no known vaccine or treatment against it, so it looks like we have to deal with this for quite a while. Sounds like fun.

Well, honestly, I don’t really think this whole “Call Me Maybe” craze is going to last as long as the Spanish flu, and it’ll probably die down as rapidly as it rose up in the iTunes charts sooner or later, but right now, I have to deal with the fact that I, along with many others, can’t get over my involuntary singing of the song no matter how annoying I find it to be. And seriously, the fact that various groups of people and companies are making “Call Me Maybe” their official anthem for fun and posting their music videos on Youtube is not helping me at all.

Don’t believe me? You don’t think “Call Me Maybe” is that infectious? You think I’m just a crazy girl who got hooked with a simple annoying pop song? Looks like I’m left with no choice but to present you with a  “Call Me Maybe collection”, where some of the videos and photos “inspired” by the song come together for your pleasure and entertainment, in order to convince you that “Call Me Maybe” is more popular than Lady Gaga’s meat dress.

First, we have the 2012 Miss USA contestants singing, dancing, and acting crazy with Andy Cohen to the song in a music video, where Donald Trump and Giuliana Rancic act as guest stars:

And just when you thought all Justin Bieber, Selena Gomez, and Ashley Tisdale do is shoot movies, prepare for concerts, sell albums, sign posters, do photo shoots for magazines, wave to fans, and get glam for Hollywood, they remind you that they’re also young people who know how to have fun and get crazy with their friends, especially when “Call Me Maybe” is playing as background music:

And Zac Efron’s not missing out on what his Disney co-stars are doing:

Filipino celebrities Georgina Wilson, Isabelle Daza, Solenn Heussaff, Liz Uy, Bea Soriano, Anne Curtis, Carla Humphries, Raymond Gutierrez, Erwan Heussaff, and their friends, on the other hand, show that the viral song has invaded the Philippines as well. Is “Call Me Maybe” more fun in the Philippines? You be the judge of that:

Even Abercrombie & Fitch used the song for their promotional video featuring their hottest A&F guys, who you might have met outside one of their flagship stores around the world (warning: the following video is NSFW):

Not to mention the number of covers done by various Youtube artists and of videos posted by various college students, such as the ones featured below:

Seriously, just conduct a search on the internet and you’ll see just how far this song has gone. You know what? I think it is probably the “most overexposed” song today because really, it’s just everywhere! It’s like the world’s crazy anthem right now. Well, Carly must be proud.

Now, if you will please excuse me, I have to go and search for some other songs that can get me to permanently stop singing and dancing to Carly’s hit song. Suggestions, anyone? Please, I’m desperate to get over this viral song.

And oh, before I forget –

Hey, I just met you

And this is crazy.

But, here’s my Twitter,

So follow maybe? 😉

One comment on “The Virus Known as ‘Call Me Maybe’

  1. try this… Broken Hearted by Karmin

Speak your minds!

What You Missed

STB-5
STB-5