a. bucket. of. words.

by Cherszy (@cherszy)

MTV Presents Its Awards

This June 6, a movie-tastic event is happening! It’s not Oscars. It’s not Golden Globe. It’s the 2010 MTV Movie Awards!

MTV movie awards - are you ready?

Unlike your typical award shows which give the winners a beautiful golden trophy to take home, MTV Movie Awards let the winners bring home the award show’s famous “golden popcorn”.

So, it's not really as golden...

As unusual as the prize is, so are the categories for nomination. It’s not your usual categories, such as ‘Best Actor’ or ‘Best Director’. MTV comes to recognize certain aspects of movies which are usually overlooked or are not the concern by and of the more serious awarding academies, such as the Oscars and the Golden Globe. For a nominee, it’s like getting an award for a certain thing you didn’t expect to be given an award for when you shot the movie. It’s actually very interesting, and it’s actually something a lot of people [I for one] are looking forward to because of its comic approach to presenting of awards for movies.

Looking dapper in a tuxedo, Andy Samberg takes the stage to open the 2009 MTV Movie Awards in Los Angeles.

Andy Samberg hosting last year's MTV Movie Awards

This year, the MTV Movie Awards will be hosted by Aziz Ansari, an actor and comedian who is also the creator and the star of Human Giant. I am actually very excited to see how he will pull off this year’s awards night. I’m sure he’ll do great, so get ready for whatever he’s got prepared for all of us viewers.

The funny Aziz singing

For a complete list of the nominees for each category, please refer to the official website of MTV Movie Awards. But, here are my bets:

For Best Kiss: I actually have two favorites in this category, and they are Sandra Bullock and Ryan Reynolds (The Proposal) and Kristen Stewart and Dakota Fanning (The Runaways) Will Robert Pattinson and Kristen Stewart continue their reign for this category from last year and take another popcorn trophy home? Or will another couple replace them this year?

From kiss on the lips to kiss on the forehead - uh, Rob, Kristen's not your grandmother - taken from last year's MTV Movie Awards when they won 'Best Kiss'

For Best Fight: Hugh Jackman vs. Liev Schrieber (X-Men Origins: Wolverine) or Logan Lerman vs. Jake Abel (Percy Jackson &The Olympians: The Lightning Thief).

Wolverine vs. Creed

Percy ready to show his water powers

For Best Villain: Definitely Helena Bonham Carter (Alice in Wonderland). Hands down! ‘Off with your heads’ – I super love this line!

Love, love the Queen of Hearts! (Off with your heads!)

For Best WTF Moment: Supposedly Johnny Depp (Alice in Wonderland) where he suddenly breakdanced in the closing scene! Definitely my winner for this category! But, apparently, he was taken out of the original nominees list, so if I were to choose among those listed now, I’d probably go with Megan Fox (Jennifer’s Body) where there was a projectile vomit coming out of her mouth. Eww…

He suddenly danced out of nowhere... like, okay, what's going on. Really, WTF!

WTF... and creepy!

For Biggest Badass Star: I would have wanted Brad Pitt (Inglorious Basterds), Denzel Washington (Book of Eli), or John Travolta (The Taking of Pelham 123) to win. But, the nominees’ list didn’t include them. So, Angelina Jolie (Wanted) would be my bet for this category.

Lt. Aldo Raine - a real badass

Eli... person of God or a real badass?

Ryder - you look like the biggest badass in town

But it looks like Angie is a bigger badass than all three of them

For Best Scared-As-S**t Performance: Alison Lohman (Drag Me To Hell). But, really, I think all of the nominated movies  should all win this award. They’re all very exciting… scary exciting that is.

Now, this old lady sure scared the hell out of me!

For BestBreakout Star: Mia Wasikowska (Alice in Wonderland) should be the winner for this! Her performance as Alice was very lovely and fun to watch. She did a great job. Truly one of the best actresses in the making. However, I have no idea why she isn’t in the nominees list. 😦 But, Zach Galifianakis (The Hangover) is definitely a scene stealer, so he is, in my opinion, the nominee who deserves the award the most.

What are you looking for, Alice?

Kudos to your performance, Zach!

For Best Comedic Performance: Sandra Bullock (The Proposal). Love this movie and its wonderful cast. I just kept on laughing! Good job you guys!

And she proposes!

For Best Female Performance: Katherine Hiegl (The Ugly Truth) for the win! Incredible and super funny! Wonderful, wonderful! But then again, she wasn’t nominated. Well, she was in the original nominees list but not anymore. 😦 So, among the five nominated, I feel Zoe Saldana (The Avatar) sounds more like my winner.

Abby Richter thought she couldn't find love... ever!

Neytiri has really beautiful expressive eyes

For Best Male Performance: I’m torn among Johnny Depp (Alice in Wonderland), Leonardo di Caprio (Shutter Island), and Robert Downey, Jr. (Sherlock Holmes). All three did great in their movies. Johnny Depp as the Mad Hatter was very amusing. Leonardo di Caprio as the crazy dude was very convincing. Robert Downey Jr. as the legendary detective was very entertaining in his adventures. Can they all three get an award for this category? They all really deserve it.

Everyone's favorite Mad Hatter

Federal Marshall turned lunatic

Sherlock Holmes... forever the legendary spy/agent/detective

BUT, seriously, what’s up with the current list of nominees for the Best Male Performance? All those three who I want to win are not there! Why?? They’re so wonderful, and yet… 😦 All the actors nominated here are the young ones, and it seems like the veteran actors have already been forgotten. I know Taylor Lautner and Robert Pattinson are hot, but I’m not so convinced with their acting skills yet. So, the best among those listed for me would probably be Daniel Radcliffe (Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince).

Daniel's hot too. And I really wanted Harry to end up with Hermione.

For Global Superstar: I’d say Robert Downey Jr. Why? Just because. Well, he’s taken a lot of top-grossing, beautifully-made films, such as Iron Man and Sherlock Holmes. And he was great in all!

And he's on the cover of Men's Vogue!

However, in the real list of nominees, I’d definitely say Johnny Depp! No other nominee can top him! At least that is in my opinion. He’s been everybody’s favorite queer characters: Sweeney Todd, Willy Wonka, Jack Sparrow, and Mad Hatter.

And he's so sexy on the cover of Rolling Stones!

And for Best Movie: Alice in Wonderland, I guess. I love the crazy wild adventures of Alice although I really expected it to be a lot more from it. And the 3D version wasn’t exactly necessary. But, I loved the characters and the cast who played them. But, I personally want Sherlock Holmes to win this category but it’s not on the list, so just a big congratulations from me then for being a really cool movie!

Oh, Alice... does the place look familiar?

Holmes and Watson in search of Blackwood

So, there you go – my bets for the 2010 MTV Movie Awards. Do you agree with me? If not, tell me who your bets are. Comment below. I’d be happy to know who you want to win. You can also help your bets win by voting for them at the MTV Movie Awards website. So, what are you waiting for? Vote now!

So, on June 6, sit back and relax because MTV’s about to give you the show of the season! Make sure you don’t miss it!

*I’ll be posting a list of the winners on June 8, so just in case you missed it, you can still be updated and see if your bets won.

*MTV Movie Awards will be aired on June 7 for those living in Hongkong, Philippines, Singapore, and Malaysia.

3 comments on “MTV Presents Its Awards

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention MTV Presents Its Awards « whutz happenin' -- Topsy.com

  2. ingeroInvorge
    May 16, 2010

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

    • whutzhappening
      May 17, 2010

      Thanks Christian! I’m really happy you like the posts. 🙂 I hope you share this blog with your friends. I’d really appreciate that. And keep reading! 🙂

Speak your minds!

On a tweet spree

  • My heart really goes out to all those who were killed and injured in the Colorado shooting. Man, those people just wanted to watch a movie! tweeted 5 years ago
  • Saw an amazing around-the-world video! Makes me want to just drop out of college and go to Morocco or Argentina right now. tweeted 5 years ago
  • So many Avengers puns are popping on my Facebook wall. My brain's dying from continuously saying "what the hell". Gah! tweeted 5 years ago

What You Missed

STB-5
STB-5
