a. bucket. of. words.

by Cherszy (@cherszy)

Batch 1: My TCA Movie Bets

Teens, it’s that time of the year again, where the recognition of the biggest achievements in movies, TV, music, and many other categories lies in your hands. It’s the 2010 Teen Choice Awards, and you get to choose who you want to see surfing home with a teen choice award surfboard!

I just don't know what the design of this year's surfboard is going to be

Oscars, Golden Globe, and all those other formal awarding ceremonies are reserved for the expert judges, but with Teen Choice Awards, no one’s stopping you from becoming the judge. Well, as long as you’re a teen, you’ve got your rights to vote for your favorites! So, who’s getting a new surfboard this year? We’ll get the answers come August 9 on Fox. I know it’s still a very far date, but if you want your favorite shows, actors, and artists to win, you will have to start voting today. Go to http://www.teenchoiceawards.com/, click on the Vote tab, register, and click your votes away!

Vote everyday!!!

While you’re still pondering on who to vote, let me share who my bets are. You know, just in case, maybe you would like to side with my votes or something. Who knows? We might have the same favorites. And yes, I’m still a teen, so I can still vote.

Dance Robert Downey, Jr. (Iron Man 2)

The drunk scene, remember? Where he thought he was already going to die so he danced like a robot gone wrong during his birthday party? It was actually kinda funny to see RDJ dance in his Iron Man costume.

Action-Adventure – Kick Ass

Do I need to say why this movie? Well, the fight scenes just kicked ass! Just watch Hit Girl go!

Actor Action-Adventure – Russell Crowe (Robin Hood)

Come on, it’s Robin Hood! It’s everybody’s favorite thief! And Russell Crowe’s performance in the film was spectacular!

I wonder where his mates are

Actress Action Adventure – Rachel McAdams (Sherlock Holmes)

Smart, pretty, and always on the go – clearly, Sherlock Holmes’ love interest is a tough contender in this category.

Irene Adler proves that she's more than just a pretty face. She can shoot too!

Sci-fi – Avatar

The new highest top-grossing film of all time? Well, I wouldn’t wonder why. Pandora’s filled with many beautiful mysteries that took us to a whole new world of imagination.

Actor Sci-fi – Robert Downey, Jr. (Iron Man 2)

RDJ has always been an amazing actor and he has shown that he is the right person to be chosen for Iron Man. He portrayed his role with much gracefulness that you would really fall in love with his performance and his character.

I wonder if there's anyone out there who's trying to be Iron Man

Actress Sci-fi – Scarlett Johansson (Iron Man 2)

Do you remember her secret spy mission where she took down the gunmen with her super ninja skills? Well, that’s where my vote is coming from.

Super spy Black Widow!

Fantasy – Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time

This film’s special effects blew me away! I could really feel the magic of the sands working while I was watching it. The scene was beautiful! So, I just had to give this film my vote for the fantasy category.

Actor Fantasy – Johnny Depp (Alice in Wonderland)

Who doesn’t love the Mad Hatter? He’s queer but he’s lovable. And who doesn’t like Johnny Depp? He’s hot and he’s a good actor! So, putting the two together makes one big winner. And don’t forget his breakdancing towards the end of the movie! It’s still the weirdest thing I’ve ever seen in a film though!

Lovely character

Actress Fantasy – Mia Wasikowska (Alice in Wonderland)

She is definitely one of the biggest breakthrough actresses in Hollywood today. With her promising performance as Alice, she will definitely go far in the entertainment business. So, kudos to you Mia!

Looking for someone Alice?

Drama – The Blind Side

A heartwarming film that will bring a tear to your eyes – I think this says it all.

Actor Drama – Jake Gyllenhaal (Brothers)

Movie after movie, Jake proves that he is fit to play any role, but I believe that he is at his best when he’s playing drama. When he smiles, he’ll make you smile as well. When he cries, he makes you feel the sadness that he’s bearing. He’s able to translate his emotions to the viewers. And this is why I think he deserves this award.

More power to you Jake!

Actress Drama – Sandra Bullock (The Blind Side)

If you watched the movie, then you know why I chose her. She just has this ability to move you in a dramatic film and to amuse you in a comedy. Sandra’s just one of the most talented people I know.

I'm really happy that she's back

Romantic Comedy – The Proposal

There’s that factor of having the right amount of comedy and drama thrown in together in this film which makes it a successful romantic comedy. Sometimes you’ll go LOL, and then there are times when you say aww (but most of the time LOL) . There’s always that gush of emotions running through you as you watch from start to end.

Actor Romantic Comedy – Gerard Butler (The Ugly Truth, The Bounty Hunter)

My vote is more for the Gerard in “The Ugly Truth”. He was hilarious in there. His tandem with Katherine Hiegl totally clicked, if I may say. They really make up a good comedic pair.

He plays the green-minded carefree dude. Who knew he was capable of real love?

Actress Romantic Comedy – Sandra Bullock (The Proposal)

Sandra is super hilarious in the film. Period. She can already make you laugh in the movie’s short trailer (see Romantic Comedy). Amazing actress!

Sandra Bullock: truly a legend

Comedy – Get Him to the Greek

Russell Brand + Jonah Hill = explosive comedy! Their team-up was great. What can I say? Looks like we’ve got a new favorite comedy pair!

Actor Comedy – Jonah Hill (Get Him to the Greek)

Russell Brand was funny, but Jonah Hill… Jonah Hill was the man! I don’t know what extra factor he’s got, but he definitely knows how to make the audience laugh like crazy.

The new Jack Black? Or maybe even better?

Actress Comedy – Tina Fey (Date Night)

“I don’t want the kids to live with your mother! She’s awful!” I love her when she said this! Well, you gotta admit, she’s got some really good lines in that movie, and she pulled them off so well.

I would love to see her in another movie with Steve Carell

Horror/Thriller – Shutter Island

“Shutter Island” was so heavy on the thriller-suspense-mystery category. It’s like toying with your mind, and you can really feel the excitement with every scene that comes up. Very intense, really. I loved how it keeps your heart pumping throughout the whole story. Incredible film!

Actor Horror/Thriller – Leonardo DiCaprio (Shutter Island)

Very convincing. Amazing portrayal of his role. Leo caught us again with his superb acting. Claps for you.

He never fails to amaze us

Actress Horror/Thriller – Katie Cassidy (A Nightmare on Elm Street)

Imagine stepping in her shoes. I’d be out of my wits. Sleeping = Freddy’s going to kill me? I’ll pass that kind of adventure. But, seriously, Katie Cassidy was fit to play her role as “Kris” in the film. She really knows how to play with her facial expressions.

One, two... Freddy's coming for you...

Animated – How To Train Your Dragon

I’m kinda torn between “How To Train Your Dragon” and “Toy Story 3” for this category. Both are really good, cute, and heartwarming! What made me choose the former is the fact that it delivers a fresher concept than the latter. I mean, we’ve seen how “Toy Story” looks like already; it’s just a new adventure in this third sequel, but “How To Train Your Dragon” is something that’s entirely new. And Toothless the Dragon is super cute!

Villain – Mickey Rourke as Ivan Vanko (Iron Man 2)

What can I say? He really looks scary and evil. Just look at his “electric whips”!

Better stay away from Whiplash!

Alright friends, my bets for batch 1: movies end here.

So, do we have the same favorites?

If not, who are you voting for?

And don’t forget to see who my votes are for batch 2: TV tomorrow.

Cheers!

2 comments on “Batch 1: My TCA Movie Bets

  1. Karen
    June 21, 2010

    Hey, your vote for Katie Cassidy ~ Awesome…she is an amazing actress and I really hope the audience out there appreciates her hard work. She grows with every charachter and I can’t wait to see how far her career goes! There is certainly nothing stopping her now! You go, KATIE!

    • whutzhappening
      June 22, 2010

      Glad to hear from another Katie Cassidy fan! 😀 Katie all the way!

Speak your minds!

On a tweet spree

  • My heart really goes out to all those who were killed and injured in the Colorado shooting. Man, those people just wanted to watch a movie! tweeted 5 years ago
  • Saw an amazing around-the-world video! Makes me want to just drop out of college and go to Morocco or Argentina right now. tweeted 5 years ago
  • So many Avengers puns are popping on my Facebook wall. My brain's dying from continuously saying "what the hell". Gah! tweeted 5 years ago

What You Missed

STB-5
STB-5
