a. bucket. of. words.

by Cherszy (@cherszy)

Got Insomnia? Check Out These Sleep Tips!

My body has been screaming “SLEEP!” since last week, but I couldn’t grant that wish because I have so much stuff to accomplish within the week – reports, presentations, and whatever other stressful school requirement there is available. My body kept on screaming to give it a night of relaxation, but since I couldn’t make myself do it, it started breaking down on me. Great! Just great.

Good thing before my body totally fizzled out from too much stress, I had finished what I needed to finish, so I gave it what it had been asking me to give it days ago: sleep. And boy, wasn’t that just rewarding! Sleeping has never felt so good!

While I’m clearly jumping with joy here that I finally got my super relaxing sleep, I know a lot of you out there are not in the slightest of luck when it comes to getting a few z’s. While it’s stressful for me to stay awake, it’s stressful for you, victims of insomnia, to get yourself to go to sleep. Am I right, or am I right?

insomnia

Because I know how tiring and crazy it is not to be able to get some real sleep and you know, stay awake all night while everybody else is snoozing the night away, I’m going to help you get that sleep you need with a couple of tips I’m going to be sharing in this post. One or two of these should work for you (you just gotta figure out which ones do), so all you insomniacs out there, rejoice! Now, you don’t have to stock your cabinets with different brands of sleeping pills or something ‘coz those aren’t good for your health. You just have to remember and try out the following tips and you’re on your way to dreamworld in no time.

1. Drink a cup of chamomile (milk) tea 2 hours before your bedtime.

This is my personal favorite because it always works for me when I can’t sleep, like when I stayed past my bedtime. Drinking a cup of hot chamomile tea really soothes your body and makes you feel relaxed, not to mention sleepy, because of one particular flavonoid called chrysin that’s contained in it. So, a cup of this should help you out with your insomnia issue. Also, adding some milk should be even better. The drink becomes more delicious and rich and should help make you sleepier as milk is also believed to induce sleep. So, why don’t you give this milk tea a shot?

2. Listen to instrumental music

Alright, time to pull out those Mozart and Beethoven CD’s from your shelves and blow the dust off their covers. It’s about time that you start to really appreciate what instrumental music can do for you – it can cure your insomnia. Don’t get me wrong. I’m not saying instrumental music is boring, but it really has the tendency to make you feel sleepy, right? It’s so relaxing like a lullaby that slowly rocks you to close your eyes. Try it out. Download some music from some of the music geniuses, like Mozart, Beethoven, Chopin, Bach, and one of the more recent but also a great pianiat, Yiruma, and put their music to the sleeping test.

3. Take a light snack before you go to bed.

Well, maybe you’d like to try munching on a peanut butter and jelly sandwich or a piece of banana to go with your cup of hot chamomile tea before you go to bed. Taking carbohydrates with tryptophan-containing foods  sort of makes your brain calmer and so, makes your body crave for sleep more. Some of these tryptophan-containing foods include dairy products, beans, whole grains, peanuts, eggs, and sesame seeds.

4. Do yoga.

Not only does yoga cleanse your body of toxins and negative thoughts (at least that’s what the exercise claims to do), but it also gets you to sleep easier than normal. Meditation relaxes you because you are freed from your worries and thoughts for a moment, and as such, you are more inclined to feel sleepy after you do your yoga. So, get those mats ready, close your eyes, and meditate for a good 30 minutes or so. These are some of my favorite yoga postures: long salutation posture, hare posture, cow’s posture, and yogamudra posture, so you might wanna try them out too.

5. Make your room more sleep-friendly.

Make it darker or close the lights during the whole time you’re watching TV. Don’t turn the volume of either your music or the sounds coming from your TV too high, so you are not inclined to stay awake all night. Make your bed more comfortable: more pillows and hug a stuffed toy if you need. And most importantly, just relax while lying down on your bed. Don’t think of anything stressful or tense. Just let go of whatever happened that day and don’t think about what’s going to happen tomorrow. Just relax… and sleep.

Speak your minds!

Information

This entry was posted on February 1, 2011 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .

On a tweet spree

  • My heart really goes out to all those who were killed and injured in the Colorado shooting. Man, those people just wanted to watch a movie! tweeted 4 years ago
  • Saw an amazing around-the-world video! Makes me want to just drop out of college and go to Morocco or Argentina right now. tweeted 4 years ago
  • So many Avengers puns are popping on my Facebook wall. My brain's dying from continuously saying "what the hell". Gah! tweeted 4 years ago

What You Missed

STB-5
STB-5
