a. bucket. of. words.

by Cherszy (@cherszy)

Will You Miss Them? I Know I Will! (Part 1)

I was going to write a movie review for Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2, but I figured I wouldn’t be doing my amazing Harry Potter experience justice after all this time. So, instead, I decided to dedicate some sort of a tribute to my favorite characters from the sequels in order  to express my appreciation and gratitude for their fictional existence as they have definitely become an integral part of my 10 years.

I have grown up with these characters and their adventures, and I am happy to have that kind of wonderful experience. I am more than thankful and proud to be part of what is the Harry Potter generation. It is something I wouldn’t trade for anything. It’s been spectacular and magical! And I know I will be remembering and be bringing this memory with me for the rest of my life.

So, thank you to J. K. Rowling for creating such characters, for bringing life to magic, and for introducing me to a different kind of adventure that I will never forget. Thank you to the wonderful crew, especially directors Chris Columbus, Alfonso Cuaron, Mike Newell, and David Yates, for doing such a fantastic job in blending all of the different elements together to produce such a high quality film. Lastly, of course, thank you to the amazing and talented cast for bringing out the wizards and witches in all of us.

As mentioned, I would like to express my love for Harry Potter (or Harry Potter hype) through a tribute to my (12) favorite characters. This project was initially done on my Tumblr where I write a tribute to one character a day for around almost 2 weeks. There were some days I missed because I was busy with exams and stuff.

If you’re following me on Tumblr, you have probably already seen this. But, for us who don’t, please do scroll on.

Due to the length of this post, I will be splitting this in 3 parts. Well, I don’t want to be boring you with my tribute, do I? So, here are the first 4 (or 5 actually) of those fantastic favorite characters of mine.

Severus Snape: The Misunderstood Protector

A man who always looks at any student (or any person actually) with sneer and contempt. Always suspicious, always mysterious. A character who is no less than a complex maze. Today he is your enemy, tomorrow he is your ally. To whom does his loyalty really belong? Despite his malicious behavior, Hogwart’s Potions turned Defence of the Dark Arts teacher has been one of my favorite characters. I love all the darkness and secrecy that surrounds him. Always a pleasure to follow through the adventures and dark magic of this man, especially because he is very well-played by the talented Alan Rickman.

Professor Snape, you will be terribly missed. I will miss that frown, the scorning and insulting lines, the stern look, the I-always-know-what-you’re-up-to-Potter attitude, the cold and bitter personality, and most of all, his gift of the spells.

“That is the second time you have spoken out of turn, Miss Granger. Five more points from Gryffindor for being an insufferable know-it-all.” (Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban)

Fred and George Weasley: The Gods of Mischief

Mischief is never as fun as when it’s done by the Weasley twin brothers. Always on the lookout for their next victims, these twin pranksters are the beacons to the dark mood and theme of the films.

Imagine having brothers like that! I mean, you’d probably see your mom get transformed into a rabbit that’s missing an ear every now and then or your dad get transformed into a wand that’s half-bent in his sleep. Point is, they’re fun, entertaining, and crazy. Fred and George are two characters that remind us not to be always too serious with life and most importantly, they remind us that if you’ve the “talent”, then why not flaunt it. Be imaginative and creative, right?

I guess the ‘Harry Potter’ project wouldn’t be as beautiful without these two characters. Fred and George are definitely great additions to the stories, and it’s been a pleasure to have witnessed their little adventure through Hogwarts and of course, their mini experiments through the Weasleys’ Wizard Wheezes. I will absolutely miss this adorable smart pair! Too bad their business has to close too! I would have really wanted to try out those Skiving Snackboxes. Damnit!

Anyway, kudos to the Phelps brothers, James and Oliver, for making Fred and George two of my most favorite characters! Job well done!

Molly: Fred, you next.

Fred: I’m not Fred. I’m George. Honestly, woman, you call yourself our mother? Can’t you tell I’m George?

Molly: Sorry George dear.

Fred: Only joking. I’m Fred.

(Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone)

Bellatrix Lestrange: The Sadistic Witch

Loyal to the Dark Lord and an insane sadistic witch, Bellatrix Lestrange reflects the very essence of being a Death Eater. Voldemort must be very proud of this recruit!

While she is as evil as her master, Bellatrix is nevertheless lovable and surprisingly, not despicable. Her skill as a pure-blood manifests in her actions during the Wizarding wars, leaving us in awe of her abilities. What’s even more interesting is that although she is considered a minor character, she does not, in any way, get overshadowed by supposedly more powerful characters such as Lord Voldemort himself. She stands out. She makes an impact. She leaves an impression. All of such are possible of course through the great talent of the lovely Helena Bonham-Carter.

Despite being an aggressive and atrocious psychopath, she has found a way to capture our hearts with an unexplainable charm (or curse probably) throughout the series. We have fallen in love with a woman whose hair is as mad as her character, the one and only Bellatrix Lestrange.

Her twisted personality, her evil laugh, her interesting facial expressions, and her taunts are some of the things we are left to remember this character by as the film comes to its last installment in a few more days. And of course, what more should I add but the fact that I will terribly miss a character as strong, dangerous, and fun as Bellatrix.

Never used an unforgivable curse before, have you boy? You need to mean them, Potter! You need to really want to cause pain – to enjoy it – righteous anger won’t hurt me for long – I’ll show you it is done, shall I? I’ll give you a lesson. Crucio! (Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix)

Neville Longbottom: The Secret Weapon

From a sheepishly timid boy to one of Hogwarts’ rising leaders, Neville Longbottom has come a long way to prove his courage and loyalty. We have been witnesses to his growth over the years, and we are no less than proud of this young wizard!

Famous for his mishaps, Harry’s successor as the leader of Dumbledore’s Army has had quite some interesting adventures in and out of Hogwarts through the years. He had (almost) lost his toad, fallen off his broomstick, broken his wrist, melted a cauldron, got hung on a chandelier by a couple of pixies, and well, ridiculed. Despite his initial signs of weakness, Neville proved that he was far greater than what everybody thought he was. He proved that he was as skillful as any other wizard and as brave as any of the rest in Dumbledore’s Army. He has grown to be what he was shy enough to show – a truly talented wizard.

Neville is the sign of hope in the sequels. He showed us how determination can get us places. He showed us that not all is lost if we try hard enough. He has exemplified real character growth, and for that, I think he deserves much love and praise.

A loyal follower. A worthy leader. An inspiration.

Neville Longbottom, you will truly be missed! What you have left your audience was a touching transformation that will serve as a tool of hope for us to remember forever.

Thank you to Matthew Lewis for playing his character so well. I’m sure Neville would be so proud of how you gave him justice in the films. Bravo! And may I just say, Matthew himself has had a wonderful transformation. From a cute little boy to a sexy young man, Matt is really some celebrity material. Hope to see you in future films!

Oh my God! I’ve killed Harry Potter! (Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire)

Only problem is, I can’t remember what I’ve forgotten. (Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone)

Tomorrow, tune in to Part 2 of the Harry Potter character tribute where another 4 characters will be featured.

Who is/are your favorite character/s in the series? Who will you miss the most and why? Sound off in the comments section! 

3 comments on “Will You Miss Them? I Know I Will! (Part 1)

  1. Tiam
    July 29, 2011

    I cried at the end at the scene where Severus was holding Harry’s mom in his hand because she was dying… Awwwwww Sniff Sniff 😥

    • Cherszy
      July 29, 2011

      I love that part too! I never thought I’d cry in Harry Potter, but when that scene came out, I was like, “No! Snape! Please don’t cry!” 😥 And when he said, “Always”, that just broke my heart.

  2. Pingback: Will You Miss Them? I Know I Will! (Part 3) | a. bucket. of. words.

Speak your minds!

On a tweet spree

  • My heart really goes out to all those who were killed and injured in the Colorado shooting. Man, those people just wanted to watch a movie! tweeted 5 years ago
  • Saw an amazing around-the-world video! Makes me want to just drop out of college and go to Morocco or Argentina right now. tweeted 5 years ago
  • So many Avengers puns are popping on my Facebook wall. My brain's dying from continuously saying "what the hell". Gah! tweeted 5 years ago

What You Missed

STB-5
STB-5
