a. bucket. of. words.

by Cherszy (@cherszy)

Will You Miss Them? I Know I Will! (Part 2)

We meet again Harry Potter fans!

Yesterday, 4 (or actually 5 since Fred and George, while being twins, are still two different characters) of my favorite characters stood in the spotlight in my part 1 of part 3 series of my Harry Potter character tribute. Did you check that out yet? If you haven’t, well, why haven’t you? Aren’t you following my Twitter feed? No? Again, why not?

Anyway…

Today, as promised, I will be presenting another 4 of my favorite characters – could be yours too, for all I know – and I hope you get to appreciate them as much as I have.

Draco Malfoy: The Uncertain Villain 

Being the most adorable villain around isn’t the easiest thing in the world. On one hand, you have to be extremely likable. And on the other hand, you have to be extremely loathsome. Just imagine the dilemma and agony of a certain Draco Malfoy.

While Lord Voldemort is busy establishing himself as the prince of doom, Draco is patting himself on the back for being the little evil wizard that he is, ruining his fellow wizards and witches’ lives one prank and insult at a time. Poor Neville still has to get him back after all those awful years!

Vicious, cunning, hostile, and arrogant, our favorite bully is truly a son of Slytherin. Way to bring on the family legacy! Lucius must be proud! However, despite the fact that he exudes pride and scorn, Draco is one of the most hesitant characters in the story. He can appear brave, but his weaknesses are not difficult to find. Despite being the son of a Death Eater, he did find reluctance in missions to serve the Dark Lord because he was emotionally unstable. He was fearful, uncertain, and undecided on his loyalty. He was a troubled boy.  And that’s what makes Draco Malfoy one of the most interesting and fun characters we’ve witnessed throughout the years.

Being the boy who couldn’t battle his own dark and mysterious personality and who hid his fears behind his snickers and scoffs, Draco Malfoy brought us an adventure of mixed emotions. Through the sequels, he let us witness the greatest battle anyone will ever encounter – choosing sides (good vs. evil) and discovering oneself. We have witnessed his fear, his hesitation, his anger, his loneliness, his regret, his joy, his mocking attitude, his frustration, his humor, and most importantly, his transformation from one personality to another. We were with him in his adventures, and he drew us closer to his character in every sequel.

He is a mystery, yet somehow, it feels like we already know him.

Draco has made us laugh, cry, mad, sorry, scared, shocked, and undoubtedly, he has made us fallen in love with him. There’s a charm hidden in this little boy wizard which has struck us with much power and intensity that we are – at least I am – hesitant to let go of in the coming of the final installment. He was a great character to follow through each and every sequel. He’s like a lovable little devil that Lord Voldemort has sent to tempt us to join the dark side. So, sorry Harry Potter, we will follow whichever side Draco’s on as he has impressively held us captives with his ingenious performance of a dramatic and tragic young wizard.

I must say though, Draco Malfoy is my ultimate favorite male character in the story. He’s just very interesting and fun, and there is just that magic in the way his life was portrayed throughout his years in and out of Hogwarts. There’s that darkness around him, but there’s also that light that you see in his eyes where a glimmer of hope and of a desire to change for the better is reflected. And honestly of course, he probably has some of the best lines. The villain is always very endearing to me – don’t judge.

So, thank you Tom Felton for being the Draco Malfoy I’ve always envisioned. Well-executed; well-played. You have truly given life to a strong character that is as memorable as your performance. It has been a pleasure being your fan throughout the 10 years you have insulted Potter and his friends! Kudos!

You know how I think they choose people for the Gryffindor team? It’s people they feel sorry for. See, there’s Potter, who’s got no parents, then there’s the Weasleys, who’ve got no money – you should be on the team, Longbottom, you’ve got no brains. (Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone)

I heard your father finally got his hands on some gold this summer, Weasley. Did your mother die of shock? (Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban)

I don’t want your help! Don’t you understand? I have to do this. I have to kill you! Or else, he’s going to kill me… (Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince)

Think my name’s funny, do you? No need to ask yours. Red hair… and a hand-me-down robe. You must be a Weasley. (Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone)

Hermione Granger: The Epitome of Beauty and (Too Much) Brains 

She may be born of Muggle parents, but she clearly doesn’t fall short of a true witch or wizard. In fact, she has impressively surpassed many of those in Hogwarts, proving that she is deserving of where she is. Not that we couldn’t have possibly noticed how great she is as a student. Take that Malfoy! Mudbloods are as good, if not better, than pure bloods.

Always an eager beaver, Hermione Granger has earned our love and praise all these years for her intellect, her skill of the spells, her loyalty, her bravery, and her determination. Although she is quite an arrogant and a bossy know-it-all, she is nevertheless a gem that Hogwarts must be proud to have raised and to have as its student. She has absolutely learned so much during her stay at the school for wizards and witches. Likewise, the school has used the talent of a student like Hermione’s to inspire and aid its other students, such as Neville.

A generous and a kind girl who thinks only of the best for whatever situation, even making sacrifices and fighting against her best friends at times, Ms. Granger is someone to look up to. She is a model student and a great friend to have. She’s the voice of reason with a golden heart that listens. Truly a treasure to keep. Truly a character to remember forever.

She has impressed us with her logic and her magical abilities. She has inspired us to be brave and tough for the dark times. She has taught us to be a fearless warrior who should make firm and smart decisions for the common good. She has embodied for us what a true friend should be. Finally, she has left us with many amazing memories. I don’t think I would be more thankful for any character than for Hermione Granger.

I think Emma Watson deserves nothing less than praises for her incredible performance of my favorite female character, Hermione Granger. I wouldn’t have witnessed this young overzealous girl’s transformation into a beautiful young lady any other way than what Emma has brought to the screen.

10 years of being a fan of both Hermione and Emma has been very fulfilling for me. There is just that strong connection between the two such that I feel that the character was specifically written and created for its actress. Both are smart, lovely, and sophisticated, wouldn’t you think so?

Just want to get this out: if I were to decide who Hermione should have ended up with romantically, I wouldn’t really pick Ron Weasley. I’ve always rooted for a Hermione-Draco relationship just because I’m biased. Those two are my most favorite characters, so I would have really wanted them to be together. But I’m not J.K. Rowling, so I will just have to be contented with Hermione-Ron and their little Grangers and Weasleys.

I’ve tried a few simple spells myself, and they’ve all worked for me. Nobody in my family’s magic at all, it was ever such a surprise when I got my letter, but I was ever so pleased, of course. It’s the best school of witchcraft there is I’ve heard – I’ve learned all the course books by heart, of course. I just hope it will be enough. I’m Hermione Granger by the way, who are you?(Harry Potter and the Sorcerers’ Stone)

Dobby: The Free Elf with a Big Heart

Dobby may have been serving a cruel and an ungrateful family, but (fortunately enough) Dobby didn’t get his heart stained with evilness throughout the years of his service in the Malfoy Manor. Of course, we are more than grateful for that.

Due to his helpful and caring character, Dobby had found a soft spot in our hearts. Although a minor character, I couldn’t have probably loved Dobby lesser than the other characters who had more exposure. Mind you, I cried when Bellatrix killed him.

Dobby was a kind-hearted little elf who was always on the lookout for his friends, especially Harry. He was always there when they needed him (and even if they didn’t). He was always concerned and oftentimes fearful of the danger that might befall Harry and his friends. Protective and even willing to sacrifice his own life to save those he love, Dobby is a friend I’ll be glad to make any day.

Dobby is definitely a keeper. Well, not to mention, he’s absolutely adorable! Without a doubt, I’ll surely miss this simple little guy. Well, I already did because Dobby was no longer in the last film sequel. 😦

By the way, well done Toby Jones for lending your voice to Dobby, the free house elf!

Dobby has no master. Dobby is a free elf! And Dobby has come to save Harry Potter and his friends. (Harry Potter and  the Deathly Hallows Part 1)

Albus Dumbledore: The Voice of Wisdom

Who doesn’t love a wise, old headmaster with a long white beard? Not to mention, one who has almost an infinite knowledge of magic and an elaborately designed wand known to be the most powerful in the wizard world? Ha! Bet you can’t say ‘I don’t’ now, can you?

He’s always a step ahead of everything. He almost always seem to know what’s happening and what’s going to happen next. He can seemingly always sense Voldemort’s next move and even tries to intercept before it’s too late. In addition, he makes the charm of the invisible cloak useless and the use of magic a child’s game. But, best of all, he can predict and see right through the characters while he, himself, remains a mystery.

Ah! The perks of being an Albus Dumbledore!

I will surely miss him and his kind soul. He was always that grandfather figure to me – wise, loving, gentle, and surprisingly one with a great sense of humor.

Despite the dangers of protecting Harry, Albus Dumbledore never hesitated to lend his hand, even giving up his life. He was dedicated, determined, and generous – all of which made him a model headmaster. If only we have leaders like him.

Like many of my favorite characters, Albus Dumbledore will be missed and will live in my memory forever. Thank you, dear sir, for being such a warm, witty, and talented character. Your powers are beyond amazing, and your personality is beyond beautiful. It was a pleasure meeting you, Professor.

To the well-organized mind, death is but the next great adventure. (Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone)

It is our choices that show that we truly are far more than our abilities. (Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets)

Differences of habit and language are nothing at all if our aims are identical and our hearts are open. (Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire)

Make sure you come back tomorrow  for the last of the series where tributes for the last 4 favorite characters of mine will be revealed. That is, of course, including Mr. Potter himself.

So, tell me, who are your favorite characters? Who will you be missing the most as the series has come to a close this year? Share your thoughts in the comments section!

3 comments on “Will You Miss Them? I Know I Will! (Part 2)

  1. Pingback: Will You Miss Them? I Know I Will! (Part 3) | a. bucket. of. words.

  2. mumonhomework
    July 27, 2011

    I will miss them too! blogged this week about my DD’s sudden realisation that this is it….the last one, done 😦

    • Cherszy
      July 28, 2011

      Ah! Looks like everybody’s experiencing a Harry Potter withdrawal. Don’t worry, it’s not exactly over yet though. There’s still the WIzarding World of Harry Potter to visit.

      Great to meet another HP fan! And thanks for visiting! 🙂

Speak your minds!

On a tweet spree

  • My heart really goes out to all those who were killed and injured in the Colorado shooting. Man, those people just wanted to watch a movie! tweeted 5 years ago
  • Saw an amazing around-the-world video! Makes me want to just drop out of college and go to Morocco or Argentina right now. tweeted 5 years ago
  • So many Avengers puns are popping on my Facebook wall. My brain's dying from continuously saying "what the hell". Gah! tweeted 5 years ago

What You Missed

STB-5
STB-5
