a. bucket. of. words.

by Cherszy (@cherszy)

‘Glee’ Hits 300 – But Which Performances Made Top 30?

Besides Santana’s (Naya Rivera) epic slap that shocked the shiz out of everyone, including Finn Hudson (Cory Monteith) himself, Glee had something else to further raise its bar of awesomeness in its last episode entitled “Mash Off” – its 300th performance on the show. Yes, our fave TV musical just hit the big 3-0-0! Yes, that’s two zeroes right there. Woot!

And coincidentally (or not), it’s Santana too who takes the spotlight for this momentous point in Glee history as she teams up with Mercedes (Amber Riley) and the rest of the Troubletones for a beautiful mash-up of two of Adele’s hits, “Rumour Has It” and “Someone Like You”.

And therefore, I daresay that that last episode was – what’s that word? LEGENDARY! (Gosh, THE Barney Stinson would be so proud of me right now)

In the last almost 2.5 seasons, Glee gave us reasons to cry, to laugh, to learn, to reflect, to smile, to love, and to celebrate. But, more importantly, the show gave us reasons to love music even more and to unleash the singers within us. It showed us the power of music – of how we can always turn to music to express ourselves when everything else fails.

And so, as the last episode marks its 300th number, let’s look back at some of the most memorable covers and performances from the cast. Let’s look back at the best of the best – the Top 30.

1. Bad Romance

(Season 1, Episode 20)

You just gotta love those costumes! And the energy, the intensity of the group was just unbelievable in this number. Even Gaga would be proud.

2. Run The World (Girls)

(Season 3, Episode 3)

What a wonderful way of empowering women by the one and only unicorn candidate for McKinley’s election this year – Brittany. And being the girl that I am, I totally support.

“Where has patriarchy gotten us? Double digit inflation, economic freefall, oil spills, war in Afghanistan… Boys have made one hell of a mess in this school, and there’s only one way to clean it up.”

Her words, not mine. But, you gotta admit, Brittany made a hell of a good point right there. Go girl power! You got my vote (sorry Kurt Hummel, I love you and all, but it’s time to show McKinley that girls rule).

3. I Love New York/New York, New York

(Season 2, Episode 22)

A fun song in a fun city by a fun cast – what else could you ask for?

This number is probably one of my personal faves because it makes you just want to stand up and start singing and dancing to the beat. The setting, the outfits, the song, the  choreography, and the spontaneity of the cast – everything just blended so well together .

4. To Sir With Love

(Season 1, Episode 22)

Such a heartfelt song that moves me to tears every time, especially when I remember the things that the members of the New Directions said before they sang the song. You can just feel the sadness in the air.

5. Loser Like Me

(Season 2, Episode 16)

It was quite a risk for Glee and a surprise for us Gleeks when the show announced its plan of doing original songs, but when they aired the episode, it was beyond amazing. It definitely received good reviews – well, why would it not?

And this song? It just throws you good vibes. While being a loser in reality is not comforting nor fun at all, this song gives hope – “you may think that I’m a zero, but  hey, everyone you wanna be probably started off like me; you may think that I’m a freak show, but hey, give it just a little time, I bet you’re gonna change your mind“.

Stay strong, stay proud, and don’t care about the haters!

6. Lucky

(Season 2, Episode 4)

The voices of Sam Evans (Chord Overstreet) and Quinn Fabray (Dianna Agron) are in a perfect mix here. And wouldn’t you agree that they look cute together too?

*giggles*

Too bad the chemistry didn’t last forever.

7. Pure Imagination

(Season 2, Episode 21)

If this song doesn’t make you tear up even for a bit, I don’t know what’s wrong with you. It will make you cry your eyes out; it just will. Come on, even the most heartless Sue Sylvester got moved.

The genuineness of the sad tone in this song simply makes you feel sad and makes you remember someone dear who has passed away. It’s really beautiful.

8. You Can’t Stop the Beat

(Season 3, Episode 1)

Nope, nobody can’t. And so, we continue to dance like crazy penguins on top of an ice block. Yeah, because we’re cool like that.

5, 6, 7, 8…

9. Vogue

(Season 1, Episode 15)

Who doesn’t LOVE a sexy and sultry Madonna-ish Sue Sylvester? Not me.

Cool and hilarious at the same time, I think Jane Lynch did a wonderful job with her shot at a fab makeover. Too bad she still can’t get over her hate for Will Schuester and his hair.

10. Marry You

(Season 2, Episode 8 )

Can I have a musical-like wedding when I get older too where the bridesmaids and the groomsmen will be singing and dancing on the aisle as they walk along it? Maybe, my future husband and I can join in too.

Aww, I think this is so cute, and I bet Carol and Burt will agree with me. Do you? 😉

11. Me Against the Music

(Season 2, Episode 2)

We always love a Brittana moment, don’t we? Well, I guess we wouldn’t mind having this as part of a dream sequence while we’re under anesthesia.

A hot and sexy performance with great song and choreography, I think we know why this song’s on this list.

12. Time Warp

(Season 2, Episode 5)

Each and every member of the cast seems to have had a great and fun time doing this number, especially Dianna Agron and Chris Colfer. They were just being crazy, creepy, and amusing on stage. And seriously, we can love the Rocky Horror Show again and again.

But first, let’s do the time warp again!

It’s just a jump to the left, and then a step to the right. Put your hands on your hips. You bring your knees in tight. But it’s the pelvic thrust that really drives you insane.

13. Thriller/Heads Will Roll

(Season 2, Episode 11)

How can we ever miss out on another creeptastic song from the show? Yes, how can we miss out on the song that brought us the zombie dance on the football field?

Love the make-up, love the outfits, love the songs, love the choreography, and I’d love to have some of your brains right now.

Feed me…. BRAINS!!!

14. Defying Gravity

(Season 1, Episode 9)

What I love about this diva-off is that it’s the first time that we became aware of Chris Colfer’s amazing voice range. And we’ve been obsessed with it ever since.

Both Lea Michele and Chris Colfer did a wonderful job at this song that up to date, it still remains to be one of the most beautiful duets that the show has had. It just leaves anyone breathless.

15. Teenage Dream

(Season 2, Episode 6)

It’s a simple number where students in blazers sing and sway to a Katy Perry song, but while it’s as simple as that, what makes it great is the harmony among the voices of Blaine (Darren Criss) and the other Warblers as well as the synchronization of their dance moves.

I’m telling you, this is such a fun number.

16. I Say A Little Prayer

(Season 1, Episode 2)

This is probably still the “most perfect” (I know it’s grammatically wrong but I can’t put it any other way) dance routine I’ve seen on the show up to date. And I guess that’s also the reason why there are so many videos up on Youtube that are imitating this routine.

These three girls are full of talent, and when they’re together, it’s one big bang. I seriously miss this Cheerio trio. They’ve just got all sorts of mischievousness when they are together. Now Sue’s the only one making McKinley cry.

17. America

(Season 3, Episode 5)

Just gotta love the accent and the effort to make it work (ehem, Damian McGinty, ehem).

Puck (Mark Salling) and Santana (Naya Rivera) led the wonderful success of this performance with their brilliant voices, their smooth moves, and their stunning outfits. Love the red and black motif by the way. Very sexy indeed.

And may I just say, Santana was undoubtedly the perfect Anita.

18. Forget You

(Season 2, Episode 7)

Holly Holliday (Gwyneth Paltrow) is not your ordinary substitute teacher as she’s cool and hip. Yeah, and she knows how to rock the house with this song.

Beat that Mr. Schue!

19. Jar of Hearts

(Season 2, Episode 20)

There’s so much genuineness in how Rachel (Lea Michele) sang this song. You can literally feel her heartaches through her voice. Romance and heartbreak has become a single entity in this song.

Very, very beautiful.

20. It’s Not Unusual

(Season 3, Episode 1)

Two words: Blaine Anderson.

Even with red jeans, yellow sunglasses, and a polka-dotted bow on a black shirt, Blaine is still perfect in every way. Totally not unusual.

And his voice? Still flawless.

His performance may have been almost perfect if only someone did not make a grand finale for him by setting the purple piano on fire. Thanks Santana!

21. Take Me Or Leave Me

(Season 2, Episode 13)

Another diva-off that I love and considering that this is from one of my favorite Broadway shows, Rent, I’m totally putting it up on this list.

Both Mercedes Jones (Amber Riley) and Rachel Berry (Lea Michele) have such incredible voices that for them to make a duet, that’s really something. Strong voices, powerful performance.

22. Landslide

(Season 2, Episode 15)

Santana shows her softer side and realizes her love for Brittany. And it’s all thanks to this song. Therefore, I won’t be able to forgive myself if I don’t include this song on this list because it was what triggered for the Brittana to be what they are today.

In addition, I love how Santana was so sincere as she sang this song. You can see the tears forming in her eyes, and you know how much she means the song. It’s very touching.

Say it with me – awww….

23. Hell To The No

(Season 2, Episode 16)

Attitude, baby. Attitude.

‘Nuff said.

24. Take Care of Yourself

(Season 3, Episode 4)

At first, I thought this was going to be a snoozefest, and I felt bad for Rory’s (Damian McGinty) audition for New Directions. But, it turned out to be one of the good ones. His voice was smooth and angelic and the fact that he dedicated it to his family, it was very moving. I love how he explored his voice range although I’m not really a fan of his falsetto.

Nice start, new Irish kid. Guess you’re quite magical after all.

(And Kurt, no need to roll your eyes, we still love you.)

25. Somebody To Love

(Season 1, Episode 5)

This is a really impressive cover as all of their voices came into a beautiful harmony. And what’s up with that Mercedes’ solo? That gave me goosebumps.

26. Light Up The World

(Season 2, Episode 22)

Just because it makes me smile and dance every time I hear it.

The positive vibes just keep getting to me with this song on the air, and when I watch the performance by the New Directions, I love how they’re all smiling and having fun with the song  that it seems like they want you to join in their little party up on stage.

Original songs rule!

27. Welcome Christmas

(Season 2, Episode 10)

What better way to welcome Christmas in McKinley High than to see Sue Sylvester turn from the Grinch to Santa? Well, we hope this year, the charm works again.

I love how this song is magical in its own way as it takes me back to my childhood and remembering all those wonderful memories of Christmas. And at the same time, it makes me look forward to Christmas as a day of sharing. Does anybody else feel the same? Or, am I the only one feeling sentimental when I hear this song?

28. Home

(Season 1, Episode 16)

I love the lyrics of the song for it makes me appreciate the fact that I have a loving home to return to every day. When the song plays, it makes me smile at the thought of my own home where I feel loved and cared for. It’s such a beautiful song. And with Kristin Chenoweth’s voice to listen to, the song becomes more soothing and powerful. This lady’s got so much talent that I think she should be brought back to the show after all this time. I’d love to hear a Kristin Chenoweth/Idina Menzel duet. Wow, the stage might explode.

29. Rumour Has It/Someone Like You

(Season 3, Episode 6)

There must be a reason why this performance was chosen to be the one that’ll mark the 300th performance on the show – it’s one of the best. It’s a flawless performance. Mercedes and Santana just owned it! I might like Troubletones a little more than New Directions now after this performance.

And I love how Santana somehow shows that she’s hurting but killed the song anyway. Her voice range also got explored, and she just proves that she’s damn talented. I love this girl, and I love her fierceness. I love her sweet but strong voice, and this combined with Mercedes’ power, plus great choreography, there’s no number they can’t tackle perfectly.

Rumor has it that this is the best mash-up yet. And rumor also has it that great performances don’t always have to involve a Rachel Berry.

30. Don’t Stop Believing

(Season 1, Episode 1; Season 1, Episode 5; Season 1, Episode 22)

Do you think I’ll forget about the national anthem of the Gleeks? What kind of Gleek would that make me?

This song speaks truthfully about what the show’s mainly about – believing in yourself and being proud of who you are. And I love that. It inspires a lot of people to accept themselves and to keep pushing for who they are and for what they stand for.

So, don’t stop believing.

To the next 300 performances, cheers!

What’s your most favorite performance/cover/number from Glee up to this date? Do you agree with the mentioned Top 30 above? Don’t forget to sound off in the comments section.

Speak your minds!

On a tweet spree

  • My heart really goes out to all those who were killed and injured in the Colorado shooting. Man, those people just wanted to watch a movie! tweeted 4 years ago
  • Saw an amazing around-the-world video! Makes me want to just drop out of college and go to Morocco or Argentina right now. tweeted 4 years ago
  • So many Avengers puns are popping on my Facebook wall. My brain's dying from continuously saying "what the hell". Gah! tweeted 4 years ago

What You Missed

STB-5
STB-5
